Stumbleupon came with a big surprise for the social media guys. They have introduced some great improvments:
- add more than 200 Friends
- subscribe to another member’s Stumbles without becoming their Friend
- members who’ve unsubscribed from StumbleUpon no longer appear as your Friend
- “Fans” will now be known as “Subscribers”
- Subscribers who are new StumbleUpon members appear at the top of your Subscribers list
This is good and bad. Let’s start with the good aspect. Members like you and me will be able to get in touch with more passionate bloggers or interesting people. Regarding friends, sky is the limit! About the bad aspect, spammers will have the chance to add more and more friends so they can send pages to them and promote their websites, but stumbleupon took care of that as well. You will receive this message if you add too many friends in a very short period of time:
This wasn’t really necessary. First I didn’t get it. But if you think a little about it, you will realize that maybe you just want to subscribe at someone’s favorites and not to become a friend with him or her, although, if you like someone’s activity you might consider getting to know that person.
Oh that’s great! It won’t be necessary anymore to delete your “dead” friends.
Doesn’t need any explanation, does it?
Okay, this might help, you can now see who is new to stumbleupon and who isn’t. You can put an eye from time to time on the new members to see how they manage.
More than that, you can now see how similar you are with another stumbler. To see that you just have to enter a page of another stumbler, and on the right side it will appear something like this:
All in all, I really like these changes.